APERC/IEEJ Joint Conference

IEEJ / APERC International Energy Symposium 2018 1 June 2018, Tokyo Prince Hotel, Japan

【Theme】"Revisiting the Global Energy Governance"

Opening Remarks Mr. Masakazu Toyoda, Chairman & CEO, IEEJ

Session I

Perspectives on Energy Geopolitics; Who will be the leader: US, Russia, the EU, China or Japan?
Moderator: Dr. Ken Koyama, Managing Director, Chief Economist, IEEJ
Session 1-1 Ms. Amy Jaffe, Director, Program on Energy Security and Climate Change, Council on Foreign Relations, US
Session 1-2 Prof. Paul Stevens, Distinguished Fellow, Chatham House(RIIA), UK (Distinguished Fellow of IEEJ) 
Session 1-3 Prof. Koichiro Tanaka, Professor, Graduate School for Media & Governance, Keio University / Board Member, President of JIME Center, IEEJ
Panel Discussion

Special Speech

"Japan's Energy Options looking ahead to the year 2050" Mr. Satoshi Kusakabe, Commissioner, Agency for Natural Resources and Energy, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry

Session Ⅱ

What is the outlook for paths toward a 50% reduction in GHG emissions by 2050?
Moderator:Ms. Mayumi Negishi, Reporter, Tokyo Office, The Wall Street Journal
Session 2-1 Prof. Roger Pielke, Professor, Center for Science and Technology Policy Research, University of Colorado (Distinguished Fellow of IEEJ)
Session 2-2 Mr. Wim Thomas, Chief Energy Advisor, Shell International, Netherlands (Distinguished Fellow of IEEJ)
Session 2-3 Prof. Dadi Zhou, Director General Emeritus, Energy Research Institute of the National Development and Reform Commission, China
Panel Discussion

Session Ⅲ

Can the electricity market liberalization be compatible with energy security and climate change concerns?
Moderator:Mr. Robin Harding, Tokyo Bureau Chief, Financial Times
Session 3-1 Prof. Peter Hartley, Professor of Economics, Rice University, US / Professor of Economics, University of Western Australia, AU
Session 3-2 Dr. Peter Lyons, Former Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, Department of Energy, US (Distinguished Fellow of IEEJ)
Session 3-3 Mr. Laszlo Varro, Chief Economist, International Energy Agency
Panel Discussion
Closing Remarks Mr. Takato Ojimi, President, APERC