Low-Carbon Model Town (LCMT) Symposium

The 3rd APEC LCMT SYMPOSIUM 21-22 October 2019 at San Borja, Lima, Peru

Monday, 21 October 2019

Meeting at Olympic Park, San Borja

MC: Mr. Diego Rivera Rivota, APERC
08:00-08:25 Registration at Delfines Hotel
08:30- Leave for Olympic Park
09:00-09:10 Welcome remarks of the host city Dr. Alberto Tejada Noriega, Mayor of San Borja
09:10-09:20 Opening Remarks Mr. Takanori Yamashita, Director for Natural Resources and Energy Research, International Affairs Division, Agency for Natural Resources and Energy, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI) Japan and Chair of APEC Low-Carbon Model Town Taskforce (LCMT-TF)
09:20-09:40 Presentation on the Low carbon town development in Peru Ms. Daniella Rough, Project Coordinator for “Nationally Appropiate Mitigation Actions (NAMAs) in the energy generation and final use sectors in Peru” Project, Energy Efficiency General Directorate, Ministry of Energy and Mines, Peru
09:40-10:00 Presentation on the progress of LCT projects in San Borja and the LCT-I System application Dr. Alberto Tejada Noriega, Mayor of San Borja
10:00-10:30 Photo Session and coffee Break
10:30-11:00 Presentation on the ICLEI’s successful projects Mr. Rodrigo de Oliveira Perpétuo, Executive Secretary, ICLEI South America
11:00-11:30 Presentation on the activities and experiences of 100 Resilient Cities (100RC) Mr. Eugene Zapata-Garesché, Managing Director for Latin America of 100RC
11:30-12:00 Lunch
13:00-13:30 Presentation on the APEC Low-Carbon Town Indicator (LCT-I) System Dr. Nguyen Linh Dan, Researcher, Asia Pacific Energy Research Centre (APERC)
13:30-14:45 Presentations on the LCT-I System application by the three volunteer towns (25 minutes each) 1.La Molina (Peru) – Mr. Luis Ferroel Gamarra Romero, Public Services of La Molina
2.Khon Kaen Municipality (Thailand) – Dr. Pattanapong Topark-ngam, Khon Kaen University
3.Phu Quoc (Viet Nam) – Mr. Huynh Quang Hung, People’s Committee of Phu Quoc
14:45-15:15 Comment of reviewers for each volunteer town (10 minutes each) 1.La Molina (Peru) – Mr. Saiful Adib Abdul Munaff, GreenTech Malaysia
2.Khon Kaen Municipality (Thailand) – Mr. Nguyen Quang Huy, Viet Nam Ministry of Industry and Trade
3.Phu Quoc (Viet Nam) – Mr. Michinaga Kohno, Michi Creative City Designers Inc.
15:15-15:45 Coffee Break
15:45-16:30 Panel Discussion of reviewers on the volunteer towns Moderator: Mr. Michinaga Kohno, Michi Creative City Designers Inc.
16:30-16:45 Certificate giving ceremony Mr. Takanori Yamashita, Chair of LCMT-TF
16:45-17:15 Discussion on ways forward: LCT-I applications to participants’ local and the future of low carbon towns Moderator: Dr. Nguyen Linh Dan, Researcher, APERC
17:15-17:30 Closing remarks Mr. José Bustinza, SOM Peru for APEC
Mr. Munehisa Yamashiro, Vice President, APERC
17:30~ Leave for welcome dinner

Tuesday, 22 October 2019

Site Visit in the District of San Borja

Eco-Efficient Park
San Borja Composting Plant
Biophysical Surface Water Treatment Plant of the Surco River and Qaira electronic station
Renewable energy demonstration plant - Kallpa Wasi