The establishment of the Advisory Board was endorsed by the APEC Energy Working Group (EWG) at their 16th meeting in Cairns, Australia, in August 1998.

Terms of Reference

The Advisory Board is a group of representatives of major energy research institutions located in the APEC region to facilitate APERC to conduct research activities.

Its primary role is to give professional advice on the ongoing and proposed research of APERC with respect to the issues to be covered such as methodologies, approaches, databases, and information sources, as well as relevant experts to be involved.

APERC carefully considers the advice provided by its members in proposing its research plan to the EWG.

The views and suggestions expressed by the Advisory Board remain anonymous.


Members (as of April. 2022) are as follows:

Mr. Wayne Calder


General Manager, Economic and Industry Analysis Branch, Analysis and Insights Division, Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources

Mr. Allan Fogwill


Chief Operating Officer, Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada (PTAC), Former President & CEO, Canadian Energy Research Institute (CERI)

Prof. Zhou Dadi


Senior Researcher and Director General Emeritus, Energy Research Institute (ERI), National Development and Reform Commission of China (NDRC)

Dr. Nuki Agya Utama


Executive Director, ASEAN Centre for Energy (ACE)

Mr. Tatsuya Terazawa


Chairman & CEO, Institute of Energy Economics, Japan (IEEJ)

Dr. Chun-taek Rim


President, Korea Energy Economics Institute (KEEI)

Dr. Sanjayan Velautham


Principal Fellow, National Energy University (UNITEN), Former Chief Executive Officer, Sustainable Energy Development Authority Malaysia (SEDA), Former Executive Director, ASEAN Centre for Energy

Dr. Tatiana Mitrova


Research Fellow, Centre on Global Energy Policy, School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA), Columbia University, Former Director, Energy Centre, SKOLKOVO Moscow School of Management

Prof. Kulyos Audomvongseree


Director, Energy Research Institute, Chulalongkorn University

Dr. Cary Neal Bloyd


Senior Advisor, Electricity Infrastructure and Buildings Division, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), Department of Energy

Dr. Nan Zhou


Senior Scientist, Technical Program Lead for the Net Zero World Action Centre, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)

Terms of Reference for the Advisory Board were adopted at the 10th meeting of the APEC Expert Group on Energy Data and Outlook (currently Expert Group on Energy Data and Analysis) held in Brunei Darussalam in March 1999 and were endorsed by the APEC EWG at their 17th meeting in Oakland, the United States, in April 1999.