Wednesday, 8 March 2006

Opening Session

Welcoming Remarks
Mr. Masaharu Fujitomi, President, APERC
Introduction of APERC Research Activities
Dr. Yonghun Jung, Vice President, APERC

Session 1: Energy Demand and Supply Outlook

APEC Energy Demand and Supply Outlook
Dr. Yonghun Jung, Vice President, APERC
International Energy Outlook: Understanding the Effects of High Oil Prices
Mr. Glen Sweetnam, Energy Information Administration (EIA), U.S.A.

Session 2: Energy Supply Issues

APEC Energy Outlook
Mr. I Gusti Suarnaya Sidemen, APERC
Investment for Energy Sector in APEC
Ms Naoko Doi, APERC
Energy Supply from Russia
Dr. Vladimir I. Ivanov, Senior Economist, Economic Research Institute for Northeast Asia (ERINA), Japan
Oil and Gas Resources: Uncertainty and Future Additions to Reserves
Dr. Donald L. Gautier, U.S. Geological Survey, U.S.A.

Thursday, 9 March 2006

Session 3: Energy for the Future

China's Energy Resource and Environmental Constraint for Economic Development
Prof. Zhou Fengqi, Energy Research Institute (ERI), China
Renewed Global Interest in Coal: Coal Supply & Demand, Price Trends and Advanced Coal Utilization
Mr. Yoshimitsu Mimuroto, Senior Research Fellow, The Institute of Energy Economics, Japan, (IEEJ), Japan
Energy Security and Energy Efficiency
Dr. Allan Hoffman, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), U.S.A.
Financing Energy Infrastructure in the Greater Mekong Subregion
Ir. Anthony J. Jude, Principal Project Specialist, Mekong Infrastructure Division , Asian Develpment Bank

Session 4: New Projects for 2006-2007

Proposal for 2006/07: Theme of Research Studies
Dr. Yonghun Jung, Vice President, APERC
Middle Eastern Energy Supplies and Political Develpment
Dr. Hossein Askari, Iran Professor of International Business and International Affairs, The George Washington University, U.S.A.
Energy Planning and Nuclear Power in Asia
Dr. Sueo Machi, Commissioner, AEC Japan

Closing Session

Round table discussion on policy issues in the APEC region
Dr. Yonghun Jung, Vice President, APERC
Closing Remark
Mr. Masaharu Fujitomi, President, APERC
Chair's Concluding Remark
Prof. Kenichi Matsui