Thursday, 26 May 2016

IEEJ 50th / APERC 20th Anniversary Joint Symposium 2016

Mr. Masakazu Toyoda, Chairman & CEO, IEEJ
Mr. Satoshi Kusakabe, Commissioner, ANRE, METI

Session 1

How do we approach and deal with the current energy challenges? (Wildly swinging oil price, Geopolitical uncertainty, Nuclear safety, Climate change, Impact of the market liberalization)
Moderator: Ms. Kaori Iida, Sr. Editor, Economic News Div., Japan Broadcasting Corporation

Dr.Paul Stevens, Distinguished Fellow, Chatham House(RIIA), UK
Dr. Jonathan Stern, Chairman, Natural Gas Research Programme, OIES, UK
Dr. Tatiana Mitrova, Research Fellow, Center on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University SIPA
Dr. Ken Koyama, Managing Director, Chief Economist, IEEJ
Dr. Kamel Ben Naceur, Director, Sustainability, Technology and Outlooks, IEA
Dr. Cary Bloyd, Senior Staff Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, US

Thursday, 26 May 2016

Session 2

Can APEC play a role as ”Trump Card” to address common energy challenges in the region? (Enhanced energy efficiency, Cleaner fossil fuel, Cheaper renewable energy, Safe nuclear and Energy security)
Moderator: Mr. Takato Ojimi, President, APERC

Ms. Cecilia Tam, Special Advisor, APERC
Dr. Sanjayan Velautham, Executive Director, ASEAN Centre for Energy
Dr. Nan Zhou, Deputy Group Leader, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, US
Dr. Ross Lambie, Department of Innovation, Industry and Science, Australia
Mr. Nobuo Tanaka, President, Sasakawa Peace Foundation
Dr. Phyllis Yoshida, Lead Shepherd, APEC Energy Working Group

Friday, 27 May 2016

IEEJ 50th / APERC 20th Anniversary Joint Symposium 2016

"Essence of the Energy Mix Development and Lessons Learned that should be Shared with the World"
Mr. Masahiro Sakane, Councilor, Komatsu Ltd.

Session 3

Is it possible to reconcile economic prosperity with climate sustainability? (How should INDC be evaluated? What should be done for technology transfer? How should new technology be developed?)
Moderator: Mr. Hachinari Shimazu, Journalist

Dr. Hardiv Harris Situmeang, Chairman, Indonesian National Committee -WEC
Dr. Venkatachalam Anbumozhi, Senior Energy Economist, ERIA
Mr. Mitsutsune Yamaguchi, Special Advisor, RITE
Mr. Akihiro Kuroki, Managing Director, IEEJ
Dr. Li Zhidong, Professor, Nagaoka University of Technology, China
Dr. Gerry Thomas, Imperial College London, UK

Thursday, 27 May 2016

IEEJ 50th / APERC 20th Anniversary Joint Symposium 2016

"Can Nuclear recover its trust?"
Mr. William Magwood, Director General, OECD Nuclear Energy Agency

Session 4

Is there a realistic Best Global Energy Mix for 2030 ? (Geopolitical uncertainty, Result of the shale gas revolution, Climate change, Nuclear safety, New technology development, Benefits and drawbacks of market liberalization)
Moderator: Mr. Yasuhiro Goto, Professor, Asia University

Ms. Yukari Yamashita, Board Member, Director, IEEJ
Dr. Marwan Masri, President Emeritus, Canadian Energy Research Institute, Canada
Dr. Kenneth Medlock, Baker Institute for Public Policy, Rice University, US
Dr. Robert Whitney, Emeritus Chair, Business NZ Energy Council, NZ
Mr. Wim Thomas, Shell International, Netherlands
Mr. Mario Marasigan, OIC-Assistant Secretary, DOE, the Philippines
Mr. Takato Ojimi, President , APERC